10 Nominees to Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

Ted Streuli, left, is welcomed into the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame by Vance Harrison, president of the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters, during ceremonies Thursday. Streuli was associate publisher and editor of The Journal Record from 2004 to 2018. (Photo by Kathryn McNutt)

EDMOND — Ten journalists were recognized Thursday at the 52nd annual Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the University of Central Oklahoma.

Among those honored was Ted Streuli, former associate editor and editor of The logbook, who is now executive director of the nonprofit news organization Oklahoma Watch.

Other members of the initiation class of 2022 are Barbara Byrne Allen, a former journalist and educator from Oklahoma who is now director of academic programming for the Poynter Institute for Media Studies; Susan Cadot, vice president of production at the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority; J. Scott Cherry, retired food critic and wine columnist for the Tulsa World; and Richard Dowdell, longtime radio icon, educator and radio journalist in Tulsa.

Sam Jones, award-winning broadcast journalist and anchor from Tulsa; Ellen Knickmeyer, longtime correspondent in Washington and abroad; Steve Lackmeyer, author and journalist/columnist for Oklahoma; Bryan Painter, longtime journalist and writer in Enid and Oklahoma City; and Pat Riley Reeder, longtime Claremore editor and now public relations representative for the Will Rogers Memorial, were also among those honored.

“These individuals are lifelong journalists who have distinguished themselves in many ways both in their communities and outside of them,” said Joe Hight, director of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame.

Former Oklahoma Attorney General Drew Edmondson was also recognized as the 2022 Lifetime Achievement Honoree for his tireless advocacy of freedom of information and First Amendment issues during his political career. . Edmondson served as Oklahoma’s attorney general from 1995 to 2011.

Founded in 1971, the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame today has 478 journalists and seven lifetime achievement honorees, including comedian and columnist Will Rogers, author Ralph Ellison and commentator and columnist Paul Harvey.

All members are featured on the hall of fame website okjournalismhalloffame.com.

Comments are closed.