El Paso Times Wins Prizes at Texas APME Journalism Contest

The El Paso Times won three first-place awards and several other accolades for its coverage of the Haitian border crisis, its investigative work on the Biden administration’s shelters for troubled young migrants, and writing Deadline on the death of former UTEP President Diana Natalicio.

“These awards are a team effort,” said editor Tim Archuleta. “We are inspired by life in the Borderland, so it’s important that the El Paso Times continues its tradition of being recognized for excellence in Texas journalism.”

“I am grateful to our reporters, photojournalists and editors for doing a good job as we suffer with our community through the pandemic and difficult times in the news industry. We appreciate the support of our subscribers.

Statewide awards in the Class AAA division in 29 categories were announced May 1 at the annual Texas Associated Press and Managing Editors convention in Irving.

Haitian migrants cross the Rio Grande on their way to Del Rio, Texas from Ciudad Acuña on September 18, 2021. Thousands of migrants arrived in the border town and camped under the Del Rio International Bridge on the U.S. side of the frontier.

The Times won first place for Photojournalism, Video and Specialized Reporting. The runner-up awards were in the important categories of Freedom of Information and Featured Investigative Reporting for its coverage of shelters for young migrants.

The judges acknowledged the staff’s coverage of the Haitian border crisis, a story the Times spent much of 2021 covering after our reporting showed Haitian migrants moving to El Paso and Texas to seek relief. ‘asylum.

Times photojournalist Omar Ornelas, who has spent days on both sides of the southern border, has won photojournalism’s highest honor.

The judges wrote, “Excellent strong visual reporting and editing. Excellent design and layout to show the tension on the border.

Ornelas teamed up with journalist Anthony Jackson for the top spot in the video report, which included the use of drone footage.

Watch the video below

The story continues below

Journalist Martha Pskowski was part of the team that won third place for writing deadlines while covering Haitian migrants.

Lauren Villagran

Border reporter Lauren Villagran won first place in specialist reporting, which recognizes excellence on a specific community topic.

“Lauren Villagran’s reporting shows mastery of this critical subject,” Judge said. “This entry represents all the skills we value in a journalist: persistence in digging into information, writing with clarity and detail, amplifying the voices of the powerless.”

No More Borders, Lauren Villagran Immigration Reports

The Times also received four honorable mentions for its work, including Newsroom of the Year.

Not a subscriber ? 6 Reasons You Should Subscribe to The El Paso Times

Other honorable mention winners include:

Articles published by the Puente News Collaborative, a binational partnership of news organizations in El Paso and Juárez, were also honored in the contest.

Comments are closed.