The Press Photographers Association of Canada Announces Winners of the 2021 National Photo of the Year Awards

CALGARY, Alta., June 4, 2022 /CNW/ – Images are a powerful form of communication.

In a single image is the power to motivate a nation, to convey the unspoken heart of an event, to reveal great truths or expose a transgression.

This year has seen an increase in incidents related to photojournalists’ rights in violent clashes between police and protesters as law enforcement dismantled homeless encampments in two city parks.

This resulted in the arrest and tracking of Amber Fern by the RCMP during their civil enforcement of a land defenders-related injunction preventing the progress of Coastal Gas Link (CGL) projects near Houston, BCat Camp Gidimt’en in Wet’suwet’en territory.

The Association of Press Photographers of Canada (NPAC) is especially pleased to recognize the excellence, perseverance and importance of Canadian photojournalism by announcing the winners of the 16th Annual National Photo of the Year (NPOY) Awards.

“Photojournalists have the power to use images to tell stories that transcend language and cultural barriers to a global audience,” said Diane Martin, president of the NPAC. “It takes incredible skill, timing and dedication to capture such examples of triumph, defeat and joy.”

NPAC sincerely thanks Gabrielle LurieSan Francisco Chronicle photographer; Leah Millissenior Reuters photographer based in washington d.c.; and Ash Adams, a Anchorage, Alaska based photojournalist and documentary photographer, to judge the competition.

These photographers spent eight straight hours, and more over email, of their busy schedules providing constructive criticism while selecting the winners of this year’s National Pictures of the Year competition.

Peter Matherdocumentary and wildlife photographer, Weronika Murraydocumentary photographer and Mark Kellyportrait photographer and studio instructor, volunteered their time and expertise to judge the students’ portfolios.

NPAC would like to congratulate the following winners:

Characteristic – Steve RussellToronto Star
Occasional news – Nick Lachancefreelancer for the Toronto Star
General news – Ben Nelms/CRS
Personality – Mikaela MacKenzieWinnipeg Free Press
Portrait – Chad Hipolitofreelancer for the Globe and Mail
Social problems – Chris HelgrenReuters
Sport feature – Mathieu Belangerfreelancer for Le Journal de Quebec
Sports action – Jeff McIntoshThe Canadian Press
Photographic report – Michael BergSaskatoon’s StarPhoenix
News photo report – Daryl DyckFreelancer for The Canadian Press
Multimedia Team – Deborah Baic, Patrick Dell, Stephanie Foden, Joel BalsamThe Globe and Mail
Unique Multimedia – Matt SmithSaskatoon’s StarPhoenix
Photographer of the Year – Cole BurstonIndependent
Picture of the Year – Chris HelgrenReuters
Student Photographer of the Year – Alex Lupul

More information and list of finalists, please visit –

SOURCE News Photographers Association of Canada

For further information: Steve White, Executive Director, The News Photographers Association of Canada, [email protected]905-903-4799

Comments are closed.