TV3’s Portia Gabor wins GJA 2021 Journalist of the Year award

TV3’s Portia Gabor wins GJA 2021 Journalist of the Year award

Portia Gabor of TV3 is the 2021 Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Journalist of the Year.

Portia Gabor avoided competition from Kester Aburam Korankye of the Daily chart and Francisca Enchill, a freelancer.

The three of them took home two awards each at the 26th GJA Awards on Saturday night.

Kester Aburam Korankye received the Best in Features for Print award with the story “Achieve an efficient transport system, did the BRT collapse” and Best in Road Safety with history, “Relentless indiscipline, highway without rules”.

Francisca Enchill won the award for female journalist of the year and the award for best Investigative journalism with history”Pay or Die: Agony of Pregnant Women in Hospitals”.

Portia Gabor won best television reporting with the story”Beggar’s Paradise“and the Best in Health feature with the story”wealth for health” and crowned him with the ultimate – Journalist of the Year.

Related: At the 26th GJA Awards – Whoever Killed Ahmed Suale Doesn’t Deserve to Live – NMC

Whoever killed journalist Ahmed Suale does not deserve to live, said National Media Commission Chairman Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh.

Addressing the 26th GJA Awards Ceremony in Accra on Saturday evening on the theme “Walking Ghana’s Economic Recovery Path; The Role of the Media”, Mr Boadu-Ayeboafoh said it was worrying that Suale’s case has not been resolved to date. now.

Get new DJ mixes

He also recalled the murder of another journalist, Samuel Ennin in 2007, who was the Ashanti regional chairman of the GJA, which also remains unsolved to this day.


TV3’s Portia Gabor won the GJA/PAV Ansah Journalist of the Year Award

News report (print)

  • Maclean Kwofi (Daily Graphic) – Covid-19 protocol missing at Kotoka International Airport

News reporting (television)

  • Portia Gabor (TV3) – Beggar’s Paradise

News Report (Radio)

  • Ridwan K. Osman (EIB Network) –

News report (online)

  • Emmanuel Bonney (Graphic Online) – Invasion of street beggars in Accra

Features (Print)

  • Kester Aburam Korankye (Daily Graphic) – Achieving efficient transport system, BRT collapsed

Features (TV)

  • Peggy Ama Donkor (GTV) – Road robbery in the far east of the Bono East region

Features (Radio)

  • Mavis Ofei Akyeampong – Frontline Workers

Features (online)

  • Albert Oppong Mensah (GNA) – COP26: Why Ghana still has the voice

Documentary (television)

  • Solomon Joojo Cobinna (Joy News) – In Search of Witch Hunters

Best Democracy Report

  • Seth J. Bokpe (Fourth Estate) – RTI Law Test


  • Juliet Bawuah (TV3) – Rugby at the beach


  • Joseph Armstrong Alorgbey (TV3) – The contractor does not hand over the school block to

Investigative journalism

  • Francisca Enchill (Joy Prime/Freelance) – Pay or die: Agony of pregnant women in hospitals


  • Geoffrey Buta (Ghanaian Times) – Destruction of a five-hour downpour

Business and economy

  • Daryl Kwawu (Joy News) – The Unemployment Challenge

Environment and science

  • Godwin Asediba (GHOne TV) – Sanitation crisis in public toilets


  • Portia Gabor (TV3) – Wealth for Health


  • Richard Kwadwo Nyarko (Joy News) – When the last fish is caught


  • Benedicta A. Gyimah (Ghanaian Times) – Cost of pesticides


  • Samuel Amoh (Adom TV) – Rejected due to elephantiasis – the story of Aziz Entsie


  • Beatrice Senaju (GBC) – Bomfobiri Wildlife Sanctuary, Beauty in the Wild

Road safety

  • Kester Aburam Korankye (Daily Graphic) – Relentless indiscipline, highway without rules

Best TV/Radio Program in Akan

Best TV/Radio Program in Ga

Best Television Program in English

  • News file (Joy News/Joy FM)

GJA President’s Special Award

  • James Nortey (GJA Staff at Ghana International Press Centre)

Female Journalist of the Year

  • Francisca Enchill (Joy Prime / Independent)

Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist Award

  • Emmanuel Koranteng (Joy News)

GJA/PAV Ansah Journalist of the Year

Author email: This email address is protected from spam. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Comments are closed.